The Great Northwest

The Pacific Northwest is a true gem. This beautiful place has so much to offer in the way of outdoor activities. Hiking, biking, skiing, rafting, sailing, fishing, from snow covered mountain tops, to rich coastlines, it is an emerald waiting to be discovered.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

However, like anything in life all the good things are hard to find. Everything that is made valuable in the world is covered and hard to get to. Where do you find diamonds? Deep underground, covered and protected. Where do you find gold? Under layers and layers of rock. You have to work hard to get to these gems. The same can be said about some of the most scenic spots you’ll find in Oregon and Washington. You’ll have to drive long hours, or hike steep inclines, or battle mother nature as she pelts you with rain or snow. Whatever the obstacle, the great outdoor adventure leads you to the most breathtaking places. It is exhilarating, a natural high for me, as I turn that final corner and see nature’s beauty laid out before me.

Whatever the obstacle, the great outdoor adventure leads you to the most breathtaking places.

I appreciate living in Oregon now, however growing up here was difficult for me. I didn’t enjoy the rainy days mostly because I was an active child forced to be indoors. When late Fall, Winter, and Spring came around I didn’t get to run and play outdoor games with my older brothers. That is a considerable amount of the year wasted indoors. The Northwest doesn’t have the amazing 365 weather that the sun belt states get to enjoy, but it doesn’t have the extreme winter’s like the east coast either! It does have all four seasons. I’ve watched the leaves fade and fall before the snow comes, then life reawaken, and blossom when the sun returns and warms the earth. It does have green trees, flowers, rivers full of life… rolling hills, dense forests, high deserts, dormant volcanoes, lakes, rivers, beaches… How could I not come to appreciate this lush, diverse region I get to call home.

Join me every week as I post about locations I’ve discovered and far off destinations that I plan to discover. I’d also love to hear about the places you’ve adventured to, places you think I need to see, or even how you feel about living here in the The Great Northwest. I can’t wait to share my love of the outdoors and travel with you. Let’s get out and adventure together!

Leave a Reply

