Remixing Your Closet

So last week I had mentioned that I’m in the process of cleaning out my closet and creating a capsule collection. Most of my time, however, was spent trying to figure out which outfits I always fall back on… what seems to be my “uniform.”

I finally figured it out! It’s skinny jeans, a fairly fitted top, a cover up, and heels. All my other outfits always seemed to have one or two of these elements as well. Like another staple is my uniform but with non-heeled shoes like flats or boots. Or during the summer I fall back on shorts or a cute skirt and a fairly fitted top, a cover up and non-heeled shoes.

My Uniform = Skinny Jeans + Fitted Top + Cover Up + Heels

Now that I got that all figured out I just needed to figure out how to mix up all these element into outfits. That’s when I came across this:

tumblr_inline_mky9bzqsJn1qz4rgp

Natalia over at Ma Nouvelle Mode wrote up this post about mixing things up with the few garments she has in her teeny closet.

As a mother who spends all my money on my kids instead of on myself I have a closet that’s probably just as small as hers. There hasn’t been much updating and I tend to fall back on the same dated outfits over and over again. After reading this article, however, I think I’m going to take Natalia’s 7 day challenge and see if I can’t “remix” my closet as well using key pieces in my uniforms – skinnies, skirt, fitted tops, cover ups, and heels.

tumblr_inline_mky9b1VKJs1qz4rgp

Read Natalia’s original post here at Ma Nouvelle Mode and let me know if you’re going to take the challenge as well!

2 thoughts on “Remixing Your Closet”

Leave a Reply

